This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 About the UC Men’s Rugby Club

In Spring of 1971, Meyer Field (later changed to turf and known as Gettler Field) became the site of Cincinnati’s first rugby training and matches. In 1974, Labor Day weekend, The University of Cincinnati’s first match was played. Buck Sheils and Mike Barrett founded the University of Cincinnati Men’s Rugby Club, and still are involved with the program today!

As rugby has grown as a sport in our nation, so has UC Men’s Rugby Club. We now carry a roster of 30-40 members, competing across the nation in both 15’s and 7’s, against elite level competition. In the 2012-2013 season, the team elected to move to Division I Rugby, competing in the MAC conference. This conference consists of teams including Bowling Green, Dayton, Louisville, Miami, Ohio University, IUPUI, and Western Michigan.  Over the past seasons, UC has been strong in conference play, making the MAC playoffs the last 2 years. Director of Rugby, Mark Heidrich, and coaches Nick Lauterbach (Head Coach), Tony Schenke, and Jeff Bender now coach the team with the assistance of players from the local men’s team, the Cincinnati Wolfhounds. The team welcomes any new members, regardless of any previous experience or knowledge of the sport. See the Sign Up page for more information about the team, or to join us in making the history of the UC Men’s Rugby Club.


Home Field: Brimelow Fields